Review: The Boy Most Likely To

Posted October 16, 2015 / Book Reviews / 10 Comments

Review: The Boy Most Likely ToThe Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Published by Penguin on August 18th 2015
Also by this author: My Life Next Door
Format: Audiobook (432 pages) • Source: Scribd
GoodreadsAmazon Barnes & Noble
two-half-stars

A surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han 

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house.

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.

my thoughts pinkI AM SAD AND DISAPPOINTED. I don’t know how else to start this review. 🙁 In the first book, I didn’t really like Tim at all. He grew on me, for sure, but not enough to make me say “hey I’d love to read a book about him.” Regardless, when I saw this one on Scribd, I thought it’d be a perfect audiobook to start. I was pretty interested at the beginning and Tim continued to grow on me even more. And then the TWIST happened (which happens so early in the book that it feels weird to call it a spoiler?) and everything went downhill. Don’t worry, I’ll be spoiler-free for a while. In the most general terms I can say, I didn’t MIND this turn of events. It’s not what I was expecting when I set out to read this book, but it also wasn’t surprising. I knew exactly what was going to happen when certain things started happening. Sorry for the vagueness, but go with it. Regardless, I don’t think this particular element of the story (which turned into pretty much the entire plot) bothered me like it may have bothered others. I didn’t care about Tim much so it didn’t upset me that this was happening to him. I was intrigued but slowly that interest waned. I had a big feeling of what was going to happen by the end of the book, so it all felt pointless to me. There were some pretty big glaring holes that for some reason no one was thinking of. I was rolling my eyes and scratching my head quite a bit throughout the whole thing.

AND now for the spoilers, hidden neatly in here before I wrap up the review: View Spoiler » I really didn’t think that this particular storyline would bother me that much, but it did. It’s not because I loved Tim and wanted more for him, but because it all felt stupid and unnecessary and preventable.

Now that Tim’s shit is out of the way, I’ll move on to Alice. As a character, I just didn’t connect with her at all. Honestly she has all the makings of someone I’d like, but I didn’t feel it. I think the biggest reason was because Tim’s issues were so HUGE and his chapters were more frequent than hers. This book did not need two points of view at all. I would have been completely satisfied (that’s an exaggeration I guess) with just Tim’s. Her problems with money and her father’s health were definitely big, but they never got the right amount of attention. It just wasn’t necessary.

Because I didn’t care much about Alice or Tim, really, I couldn’t even ship them too much. I’m glad they were trying things out because they seemed like a good pair, but whatever. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯  No feels or swoons or anything. I actually rolled my eyes a bit and cringed during the inevitable they-finally-hooked-up scene. Not a fan. Not sure why, but it just didn’t work.

I also hate that I didn’t like the writing too much. Tim’s voice felt weird. I didn’t get the way he talked in awkwardly phrased sentences… ESPECIALLY because we know that he’s smart, based on everything that happens in the previous book. I don’t know how to describe it, but it just didn’t jive with me.

feels from friends pink

rating breakdown pink

Plot & Premise
three-stars
Characters
three-stars
Writing Style
three-half-stars
Pacing & Flow
three-half-stars
Feels or Swoons
two-stars
Addiction Level
one-half-stars
Overall: 2.8

10 responses to “Review: The Boy Most Likely To

  1. I completely agree that we didn’t need Alice’s perspective and her plotlines were pretty lame and unexplored compared to Tim’s and also that the romance was pretty meh. I also agree that everything about Tim’s big storyline was predictable. However, I did like Tim in the first book (he had to grow on me) and while he annoyed me sometimes here, I did mostly enjoy his parts.

    Stephanie's Book Reivews recently posted: Funny Friday
  2. Ahhhh I am nervous now! I pre-ordered this book but haven’t gotten around to it yet, and I’m surprised you had such a strong negative reaction (however, I didn’t read the spoiler section of your review, waiting until after I read the book!) I’m intrigued by Tim as a character but admit that I am a little wary to read about Alice just because I don’t think I’ll “care” about her enough as a character, if that makes sense?

  3. Oh no! I liked this one, not as much as My Life Next Door, but a lot more than What I Thought Was True. (I really, really disliked that one.)

    I was really sad by the ending, though. I just thought it was a really cruel thing to do to Tim, especially after he worked to get everything together.

    Erin @ The Hardcover Lover recently posted: Waiting on Wednesday (47)

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.